Annex I (a)

Jordan-Israel International Boundary

Delimitation And Demarcation


It is agreed that, in accordance with Article 3 of the Treaty, the international boundary between the two States consists of the following sectors:

The Jordan and Yarmouk Rivers

The Dead Sea

The Wadi Araba/Emek Ha'arava

The Gulf of Aqaba

2. The boundary is delimited as follows:
  1. Jordan and Yarmouk Rivers

    A. The boundary Line shall follow the middle of the main course of the flow of the Jordan and Yarmouk Rivers.
    B. The boundary line shall follow natural changes (accretion or erosion) in the course of the rivers unless otherwise agreed. Artificial changes in or of the course of the rivers shall not affect the location of the boundary unless otherwise agreed. No artificial changes may be made except by agreement between both Parties.
    C. In the event of a future sudden natural change in or of the course of the rivers (avulsion or cutting of new bed) the Joint Boundary Commission (Article 3 below) shall meet as soon as possible, to decide on necessary measures, which may include physical restoration of the prior location of the river course.
    D. The boundary line in the two rivers is shown on the 1/10,000 orthophoto maps dated 1994 (Appendix III attached to this Annex).
    E. Adjustment to the boundary line in any of the rivers due to natural changes (accretion or erosion) shall be carried out whenever it is deemed necessary by the Boundary Commission or once every five years.
    F. The lines defining the special Baqura/Naharayim area are shown on the 1:10,000 orthophoto map (Appendix IV attached to this Annex).

    The orthophoto maps and image maps showing the line separating Jordan from the territory that came under Israeli Military government control in 1967 shall have that line indicated in a different presentation and the legend shall carry on it the following disclaimer:

    "This line is the administrative boundary between Jordan and the territory which came under Israeli military government control in 1967. Any treatment of this line shall be without prejudice to the status of that territory.”

  2. Dead Sea and Salt Pans
    The boundary line is shown on the 1:50,000 image maps (2 sheets Appendix II attached to the Annex). The list of geographic and Universal Transverse Mercator (UTM) coordinates of this boundary line shall be based on Israel Jordan Boundary Datum (IJBD 1994) and, when completed and agreed upon by both parties, this list of coordinates shall be binding and take precedence over the maps as to the location of the boundary line in the Dead Sea and the salt pans.

  3. Wadi Araba/Emek Ha’arava

    A. The boundary line is shown on the 1:20,000 orthophoto maps sheets, Appendix I attached to this Annex).
    B. The land boundary shall be demarcated, under a joint boundary demarcation procedure, by boundary pillars which will be jointly located, erected, measured and documented on the basis of the boundary shown in the 1/20,000 orthophoto maps referred to in Article 2-C-(1) above. Between each two adjacent boundary pillars the boundary line shall follow a straight line.
    C. The boundary pillars shall be defined in a list of geographic and UTM coordinates based on a joint boundary datum (IJBD 94) to be agreed upon by the Joint Team of Experts appointed by the two parties (hereinafter the JTE) using joint Global Positioning System (GPS) Measurements. The list of coordinates shall be prepared, signed and approved by both Parties as soon as possible and no later than 9 months after this Treaty enters into force and shall become part of this Annex. This list of geographic and UTM coordinates when completed and agreed upon by both Parties shall be binding and shall take precedence over the maps as to the location of the boundary line of this sector.
    D. The boundary pillars shall be maintained by both Parties in accordance with a procedure to be agreed upon. The coordinates in Article 2-C-(3) above shall be used to reconstruct boundary pillars in case they are damaged, destroyed or displaced.
    E. The line defining the Al-Ghamr/Zofar area is shown on the Wadi Araba/Emek Ha'arava orthophoto map (Appendix V attached to this Annex).
  1. The Gulf of Aqaba
    The Parties shall act in accordance with Article 3.7 of the Treaty.

Joint Boundary Commission

  1. For the purpose of the implementation of this Annex, the Parties will establish a Joint Boundary Commission comprised of three members from each country.

  2. The Commission will, with the approval of the respective governments, specify its work procedures, the frequency of its meetings, and the details of its scope of work. The Commission may invite experts and/or advisors as may be required.

  3. The Commission may form, as it deems necessary, specialized teams or committees and assign to them technical tasks.